Fees And What They Pay For
Credit by Examination: A fee of $25.00 per credit, plus all direct costs associated with providing a laboratory portion of an exam, will be charged to a student wishing to receive credit by examination.
Credit for Prior Learning/Experiential Learning: Students will be assessed a fee based on 50% of the current tuition rate on the total credits awarded (e.g., for 12 credits awarded: 0.50 x current tuition rate x 12 credits).
Nursing Clinical Surcharge: All nursing students taking clinical courses will be charged a nursing clinical surcharge of $350 per semester. This surcharge is designed to assist in covering the expenses associated with clinical classes due to The New Hampshire Board of Nursing requirements of a student/faculty ratio of 8:1. This fee is in addition to the academic instruction fee.
Protested Checks: A fee of $35.00 will be charged for any check protested or returned for nonsufficient funds.
Library Fines: Students will be assessed a fine of $.25 per item/per day for all overdue library materials. The cost of replacement is charged for unreturned materials.
Academic Instruction Fee
An additional fee will be charged for all Laboratory/Clinical/Practicum or other similar experiences. This fee is calculated by subtracting the number of lecture hours from the number of credit hours and multiplying the remainder by $60. This fee will be added to the normal tuition charge for that course. (See example.) Fee will be charged to all students with no exceptions.
|BIOL110 A&P I (4 credits - 3 lecture hours = 1 x 60 = $60)||3||3||4|
Directed/Independent Study courses follow the same registration and credit fees charges as other courses and will be charged the day rate and based on residency. Lab fees will also be charged, if appropriate.
$22 per credit - This fee is charged for every credit in each credit-bearing course regardless of the number of credits taken.
|Day Tuition Rates|
|New Hampshire Resident||$ 200.00 per credit|
|New England Regional Student Program (NERSP)||$ 300.00 per credit|
|Out-of-State or International Students||$ 455.00 per credit|
|Evening/Weekend/100% Online Tuition Rate|
|Evening Courses (classes beginning 5pm or later)||$ 200.00 per credit|
|Weekend Courses||$ 200.00 per credit|
|100% Online Courses (does not include Hybrid courses)||$ 200.00 per credit|
|Placement Testing (Accuplacer)||$ 15.00|
|Orientation Fee||$ 30.00|
|Application Fee (per application)||$ 20.00|
|International Admissions Fee||$100.00|
|Nursing Clinical Surcharge (per semester)||$ 350.00|
|Academic Instruction Fee||See formula above|
|Student Comprehensive Fee (per credit)||$ 22.00|
|Graduation Fee||$ 100.00|
|Each additional degree or certificate in the same semester||$ 10.00|
|Deferred Payment Fee - FACTS Payment Plans (per semester)||$ 25.00|
|Late Payment Fee - Students dropped for non-payment who are re-registered||$ 50.00|
|Payment Plan - Missed Scheduled Payment Fee (per semester)||$50.00|
|Diploma Replacement Fee||$ 20.00|
|Replacement College ID Card Fee (First card is free)||$ 10.00|
|College Level Examination Program Administrative Fee||$ 25.00|
|Proctor Exam Fee (non-CCSNH students)||$ 50.00|
|Student Insurance (Based on 2013-14 Academic Year prices)|
|Student Accident Only Coverage / 12 Months
|Student Accident Only Coverage / Spring only
Payment of Tuition Deposit and Orientation Fee
Applicants accepted as students in Nursing, Surgical Technology, and Veterinary Technology only must pay a non-refundable tuition deposit of $100 within thirty days of notification of acceptance or prior to term start. The deposit reserves a place for the student and is applied toward the first semester’s tuition. An Orientation fee of $30.00 is required of all students in the semester that the student matriculates.
Adult learners aged 65 and over and who are NH residents may enroll in credit courses at a tuition cost of 50% at Great Bay Community College two days prior to the start of classes if space is available. The Academic Instruction Fee and other fees must be paid by the student. Full tuition and other fees will be charged for all noncredit, enrichment, professional development, and recertification classes.
Payment of Tuition and Fees
Billing for tuition and fees is coordinated through the College’s Business Office. Reminders are mailed approximately 30 days prior to the beginning of each semester. In addition, electronic bills are periodically emailed to the student’s Great Bay Community College email account. Payment or arrangement for payment must be made ten (10) business days before the semester starts to be officially considered registered. For late registration, payment in full must be made upon registration. Discover, Diners Club, JCB, Visa, MasterCard, check, or cash are accepted as payment. Students awaiting scholarships or financial aid awards to cover tuition may request a deferred payment through the Business Office subject to the approval of the President. Payment plans are available at the College Services One Stop through Nelnet/FACTS Tuition Management. If payment or arrangement for payment is not made by the established payment deadline, students are not considered officially registered and will be administratively withdrawn. Students who register after the established payment deadline have until end of business day to make payment arrangements and will remain responsible for tuition and fees. A late payment fee of $50 may be charged.
The following clause is included on college forms, with areas for student signature, signifying their understanding of their financial obligations.
“I agree that by registering for courses within the Community College System of New Hampshire (CCSNH), I am financially obligated for ALL costs related to the registered course(s). Upon a drop or withdrawal, I agree that I will be responsible for all charges as noted in the student catalog and handbook. I further understand that if I do not make payment in full, my account may be reported to the credit bureau and/or turned over to an outside collection agency. I also agree to pay for the fees of any collection agency, which may be based on a percentage of the debt up to a maximum of 35%, and all additional costs and expenses, including any protested check fees, court filing costs and reasonable attorney’s fees, which will add significant costs to my account balance.”
The Registrar verifies veteran registrations after the Add/Drop period of the semester. Veterans are responsible for payment of tuition and fees pending the receipt of benefits.
Tuition Refund Policy
Credit and Non-Credit Courses
All refunds require that the student complete an official withdrawal form. Effective Fall Semester, 2011, students who officially withdraw from the college or an individual course by the end of the fourteenth (14th) calendar day of the semester will receive a 100% refund of tuition, less nonrefundable fees. Students in classes that meet in a format shorter than the traditional semester (15-16 weeks) will have seven (7) calendar days from the designated start of the class to withdraw for a full refund. If the seventh (7th) or fourteenth (14th ) calendar day falls on a weekend or holiday, the drop refund date will be the first business day following the weekend or holiday. Exception: students in courses that meet for two weeks or fewer must drop by the end of the first day of the class in order to get a 100% refund. Students registered for non-credit workshops/ professional training must withdraw in writing at least three business days prior to the first session to receive a full refund of tuition and fees. Refunds take approximately four to six weeks to be processed. If the college cancels a class, tuition and Academic Instruction fees will be refunded.
The College President or designee may grant a tuition refund or tuition credit under extenuating circumstances on a case-by-case basis, such as military activation, administrative error or documented long term illness. In order to receive a tuition credit, supporting information such as physician’s note, hospital confirmation, military assignment, etc. must be provided. Students wishing to be considered for an exception must still complete the add/drop form. The complete procedures for students with extenuating circumstances can be obtained in the Office of the Vice President of Student Affairs.
Return of Title IV Funds: Mandated by Law
Students who withdraw from school before the 60% point in a semester will have to repay a portion or all of their Federal Pell Grant, Federal SEOG grant, Federal Perkins Loan funds, and Federal Direct loans to the United States Department of Education. The exact amount required to be returned will vary depending on the amount of grant and loan money the student received and at what point in time the student withdraws from the College.
In addition, the student will be liable for the balance owed the College for tuition and fees. The student will receive a revised statement of account for the expenses incurred which will include the reduction and or loss of Federal Title IV funds.
Students who choose to withdraw from the College must complete a College Withdrawal Form. This form must be signed by the student and various campus offices and then be returned to the Registrar’s office.